BJP Releases 1st Candidate List for Chhattisgarh, T’gana, Mizoram

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released their first list of candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh, Telangana, and Mizoram, late on Saturday, 20 October.

The party released its first list of 77 candidates for the Chhattisgarh Assembly polls, fielding Chief Minister Raman Singh from the Rajnandgaon seat. After a meeting of the BJP’s Chief Election Committee headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah, Health Minister JP Nadda announced that the party had decided the first list of candidates.

The names of candidates for 77 seats in Chhattisgarh, 38 seats out of 119 in Telangana, and 13 seats in Mizoram, were also announced by Nadda.


First Cand-list-1

(Photo Courtesy: Twitter)

First Cand-list-2

(Photo Courtesy: Twitter)

First Cand-list-3

(Photo Courtesy: Twitter)

Among the 77 candidates announced out of a total of 90 Assembly segments in Chhattisgarh, 14 are women candidates and 14 sitting MLAs have been replaced with new names, Union Minister JP Nadda said.

The News Minute reported that Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh, who is seeking his fourth consecutive term, will contest from the Rajnandgaon seat.

Among those fielded by the BJP include former IAS officer OP Chaudhary and tribal leader Ramdayal Uike, who recently left the Congress and joined the BJP.

Chhattisgarh will go to polls in two phases on 12 November and 20 November. The votes will be counted on 11 December.


The BJP released a list of 38 candidates in the first round of distributing tickets for the upcoming Assembly election in Telagana. While releasing the list of candidates, Union Minister JP Nadda told reporters, “The party has considered the aspirations of our dedicated workers in Telangana region. Adequate representation has been given to the representatives of all communities,” reported The News Minute. 

Those who received a ticket in the first round include, G Kishan Reddy from Amberpet, Chintala Ramachandra for Khairatabad and NVSS Prabhakar from Uppal. All the three leaders are being renominated from the same constituency again.

Actor-politician Babu Mohan , who had recently jumped ship from TRS, received a ticket for Andhole and BJP MLC N Ramachander Rao received a ticket for the Malkajgiri Assembly constituency.

The News Minute reported that controversial legislator T Raja Singh, who has several cases pending against him – including attempt to murder, injuring or defiling a place of worship with intent to insult a religion and promoting enmity between religions – also received a nomination for the Goshamahal seat.

First Cand-list-Telengana-1

(Photo Courtesy: Twitter)

First Cand-list-Telengana-2

(Photo Courtesy: Twitter)


This is the first list of candidates for the Mizoram Assembly elections released by the party.

First Cand-list-Mizoram-1

(Photo Courtesy: Twitter)

Nadda asserted that that 13 candidates for Mizoram had been decided.

News source: The Quint


Categories: Banner, Mizoram, National

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.