Chakma Council elections: 65 candidates in fray for 20 seats

A total of 65 candidates are contesting for 20 Member of District Council (MDC) seats in the 10th general elections of the Chakma Autonomous District Council in Mizoram to be held on 20th April.

67 candidates had filed nominations but one MNF candidate was declared disqualified during scrutiny of nomination papers on 5th April while one independent candidate had withdrawn his candidature.

After last date of nomination which ended on 6th April, 65 candidates remain in the electoral battle. Of them, 20 belong to the Congress, 19 to the MNF and 18 from the BJP. This year, 8 persons are trying to proving their worth as independent candidates.

The CADC goes to polls on 20th April and counting of votes will take place on 24th April.

The Congress candidate from Fultuli, Kali Kumar Tongchangya (who is a former Chief Executive Member of CADC) won uncontested after his lone opponent could not pass the scrutiny of his nomination papers.

The CADC was established on 29th April 1972 by the Government of India under Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India for the Chakma ethnic community of Mizoram. It has legislative, executive and judicial powers.

(The Kamalanagar Times is a non-profit initiative. Support us by voluntary contributions. We welcome your comments at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.